My Steering Rack Bush Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Steering Rack Bush Replacement

Not wanting to add on to Dave's thread I thought I'd start my own, despite both being closely similar.

I'm not a pro mechanic but can turn a spanner to most car maintenance and with the car failing its MOT on steering rack play to the nearside track rod.. I read all I could find and this thread from Sidon has proven very useful: http://www.marlinownersclub.com/foru...MOT-fail/page8

So, lifted the front up, axle stands, nearside wheel off, track rod balljoint seperated, undone and unwound (counted 14.5 turns), rubber gaiter removed, steering wheel turned to full lock to expose the outer nearside balljoint. When I look inside the tube with a torch, I don't see any obvious plastic bush at all and neither do I see any remnants of a broken one...? How deep should the 'old bush' be? Maybe I missed the point and originally there were no plastic bushes and only metal ones which over time, wear out & the modern fix is Chris Weedons' Australian poly bush that just slides in?

Second query is the removal of the outer balljoint itself; I took a picture from underneath and I see a small ring which appears to have a hammered punch piece punched into a slot (see attached picture - arrow) .. Is that where I lever up the punched piece and remove the ring to unlock the balljoint which would then unwind outwards?

Do I simply then put the new poly bush onto the track rod and slide it in - how far - as far as it will go? Once its in I understand that I drill a small hole in the track rod 'sleeve' to fit a small self tapping screw to hold the bush in place.. then reassemble all afterwards. If so it is a lot easier then I had imagined it would be... but maybe I have missed something!

Cheers
    Tony
    Attached Files

Re: My Steering Rack Bush Replacement