Shaking front wheels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaking front wheels

My Berli appears to be suffering more than before with shaking front wheels, echoed through the steering wheel. Immediate reaction you might say is wheel-balance! Not sure if this is the case, as the original weights are still in place, the shaking is not related to any particular speed, and the tyres/wheels have not been kerbed. The tyres/wheels are I think Sierra Cosworth type, with 205 section tyres.

I might try swapping front/back wheels over, to see if this makes any difference. Cannot see if anything on the suspension/steering rack has changed.

Being a highway engineer, I know our roads are going to pot, but this is probably not the reason for the shaking. Anybody's Berli suffered in the same way?
    Cheers
    Mike

Re: Shaking front wheels

Had a problem with those on my Cabrio at 70 ish mph. Had wheel rebalanced twice and tracking checked to no avail. Finally disappeared when new tyres purchased. Put the problem down to the crap 'Champino' tryes the car came with.

Comment

I think some of the problem stems from the whole idea of putting giant wheels on Cortina suspension/steering. On the couple of occasions I have taken off the wheels, they have to be the heaviest I have ever lifted, even though they are alloys. Anything slightly less than perfect I believe produces the 'shakes'.

As a no cost experiment, apart from getting backache, I'll swap the front with back wheels and see if that makes any difference at all. I know the previous owner had all the wheels balanced, and it has only done 2,500mls since. The weights haven't moved or fallen off, so it must be something else. I know our roads are crap, and the potholes & ruts don't agree with the old suspension design. On the better roads (if you can find them!)the shakes disappear. Will provide feed-back as & when OK.
      Cheers
      Mike

Comment

Mike,