X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How little can i spend?!!!

Message originally posted by: Paul Statham
    Hi all,

i've fallen in love with the roadster after seeing one a few months back, i've been a motorcyclist for the past for years, and this car has made me take driving lessons. my major concern is cash... as in i don't have any, i desparatly want to know how little i could pick up a roadster for, i'm a competant mechanic and have facilities so i would be happy with somthing that's shabby and in need of love. also how available are they? is there anywhere in particular that i should be looking, as they seem fairly few and far between. any help and advice on sourcing a 'cheap'un' would really be appreciated.

thanks all,

Paul Statham.

Re: How little can i spend?!!!

Message originally posted by: Stefan Carlton
    I picked mine up (a LWB Marina 1.8 Roadster) for ?2k, it had a rebuilt engine and was (and still is) mechanically sound.

You can try ebay as they sometimes have older cars on there (I've recently seen a car like you describe go for ?700 or so) and another place is http://www.findit.co.uk/cars/kitcar.php. There is of course the Marlin Owners Club magazine, PitStop. This month has a range of Roadsters for > ?2.5k < ?4k. To be honest thats quite high for these cars, expect them outside of PS for ~?2k mark...

Personally if you can I'd get a little more cash and try and get a sorted example - there isn't much to go wrong on these cars, but if you could get a car which is used daily like mine you know you won't have to foot a huge repair bill.

Comment

Might be worth giving Danny Nelson a ring...he is always wheeling and dealing. I bought mine off him...(well bought it back actually but that's another story...they get under your skin these little motors..!!). Try 0121 453 7250.
      Marlin Roadster, LWB...1860 B Series + Ford Type 9
      Renault Espace 54mm front calipers, vented discs, cycle wings and adjustable tie-bars.

Comment