Brake bias

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brake bias

I had some issues on the way back from Stoneleigh. I believe I have a brake imbalance, which is only coming to light on longer runs since I fitted the dual booster.

Vikkis rear brakes where binding, and where - if not red hot - bloody hot and smoking when I got home. There was a distinct lack of oomph from her, as she was continually fighting the friction of the brakes.

This could be down to sticky calipers - and I won't know for sure until I take a look at them... But with the mileage I've done, and the lack of problems prior to the booster change, I think it could be residual pressure building up in the rear lines, keeping them engaged.

I'm wondering if I need to fit the brake pressure regulator that was on the donor, to reduce the pressure to the rear brakes. Thing is, I didn't keep mine - so I need to source one. Does anyone have one to hand?

BMW part # 34331152494, part 5 on the diagram below:

Everything I find online is in the states - so assume that the only 'new' source will be at the parts desk.
    Last edited by greatoldone; 27-05-14, 11:29 AM. Reason: Change of title, as brake balance wasn't the issue

Re: Brake bias

Jason

Can you call me please.

Mike

Comment

Right. I attempted to fix this yesterday, but to no avail so far - I believe I need to fit some return springs.

My problem seems to differ from everyone elses, in that my brake servo rod and clevis pin lines up exactly with the pedal - it's not offset. The clevis fits correctly either side of the pedal lever... It so spot on that I wouldn't be able to fit the rose joint I now have with out taking it out of alignment, or radically modifying the pedal.