X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rebuilding a Roadster

Hello everyone,
    Newbie here and this is my first post.
    Back in the early 90s a mate of mine built the roadster based on the Marina, ever since then I have wanted to build my own but over the years other things have taken priority.
    I have now just purchased a 90s roadster that is basically a barn find and I am in the process of stripping it down for a complete rebuild. Unfortunately it has never been for its IVA or SVA and any advice for this would be greatly appreciated. I plan to get a registered v5 and hope I will be able to transfer the registration plates over.
    It is an Ital based 1.3 and I believe pretty much all the donor parts came from the Ital.
    Anyway the strip down is going well and everything is coming apart with ease, nothing seized yet, and the chassis is surprisingly sound.
    My first question of probably many is planning for the eventual SVA, does the chassis need any modification or anything else?
    Has anyone got a build manual electronically or the current SVA regulations.
    Other than eBay are there any recommended sources online for parts.
    I live in St. Austell, Cornwall and would be interested if anyone in the owners club is local to me.
    Thanks in advance,

Re: Rebuilding a Roadster

The SVA is superceded by the IVA. You won't get a valid V5 without an IVA pass.
    Initial advice will be to expect to have a very empty wallet.

I don't think an unregistered Roadster has ever been through an IVA, so much of the advice will be a shot on the dark.
    There are other posts on the forum that discuss the possible pitfalls so I won't try to reiterate them again.
    So far as chassis mods go my reading of the regs suggest that the seat and seatbelt mountings will be critical, as will cockpit surround height, double lock doors and you will also need a collapsible steering column etc. The list goes on.