Click here to sign up  Click here to go to the galleries  Click here to go to the code of conduct  Click here to go to the video page  Click here to go to the SW Meets page

Thread: Is this a genuine buyer?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. #1 Is this a genuine buyer? 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member David's Avatar
    I have an enquiry from France for my car, apart from the fact that I'm not sue I want to sell it to someone who is taking it out of the country, does this seem genuine? I work in IT security so am very suspicious of 'too good to be true' setups! Obviously read from bottom up!
    Last edited by David; 25-05-2018 at 07:42 AM. Reason: Sanitised!
    - 9th Custodian of JRR 929D, the Triumph Vitesse based special Paul Moorehouse built prior to the Triumph based Roadster kits.
    - 8th owner of Roadster chassis number 2395. Kit manufactured 1983, first registered in 1987. Now owned by Barry!
    - Builder of chassis number 2325 (PKK 989M) in the mid 80's. Now owned by Eric & Lynne in the NE of England.

2. #2 Re: Is this a genuine buyer? 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member stevejgreen's Avatar
    Why be suspicious?
    I have purchased several vehicles from the UK and exported them to Spain.
    This side of the channel, you need to have a little more information than a log book to prove that you own the car, and that it has been transferred out of the previous owners tenure. Even for cars registered in Spain being bought from a Spanish resident, taxes have to be paid.
    But as a seller you can chose not to sell to anyone you like!
    MOC member since 05/97
    1984 Marlin Roadster SWB.
    1800TC, Unleaded ported head, stage 2 cam. Ford Type 9 gearbox, Dolomite Sprint rear axle fitted with MGF disc brakes.
    Three core radiator, Renault Clio vented front discs.