No announcement yet.

Using an engine stand...advice please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using an engine stand...advice please.

I've been collecting estimates for replacing the cylinder head on my carburated DOHC 2 litre 8 valve engine, which scraped through the MOT with high emissions and an oil leak. My quotes vary from £400-£800....even though I would be providing ALL the parts. I am therefore proposing to do the job myself. I know that it is not strictly necessary to remove the engine from the car to do this work, but I have an engine crane already and a stand can be had for about £50 which will enable proper visibility of all tasks involved. I've never done a Twin Cam head before, but I shall have experienced help and I shall be working at my own pace and (with a stand) at a good working height. I will also be able to renew the entire clutch assembly at the same time.
    Question...what type of engine stand would be best? Will I have to remove the flywheel? (you-tube videos suggest that I will). Anyone got any good advice for me?
    THANKS

Re: Using an engine stand...advice please.

If you are only working on the head I wouldn’t think its worth buying an engine stand. Once the head is off the block just sits sulking in the corner of the garage! They are more use when stripping the engine for crank removal etc. Even a paint job can be achieved with judicious use of wooden blocks, or when hanging on the crane!

With the antics of getting the engine gearbox out of a Marlin Cabrio I would spend the money on a load leveller for the crane. Peter.

https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/cll500-load-leveller/

Comment

I second greyV8pete, if you don't need to remove the engine, don't. What I have for cylinder dead work is the two stands, like iverted Ts with tapered spikes that go up the stud holes. This keeps it steady when inverted. Also off the bench the right way up.