Click here to sign up  Click here to go to the galleries  Click here to go to the code of conduct  Click here to go to the video page  Click here to go to the SW Meets page

Thread: Speedo Sensor

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Speedo Sensor 
    Club Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    372
    Anyone got or fitted an electronic speedometer to their Cabrio? Interested to know where people have fitted the inductive sensor before I attempt to fit mine.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member Tony Stott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    By Douarnenez Bay Finistere
    Posts
    491
    try asking chris cussen, he gave me some info for my berly!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    Club Member lil_red_roadster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Telford, Shropshire
    Posts
    646
    Assuming a Ford 'box, why not fit an electronic sensor..e.g. https://www.burtonpower.com/ford-ele...or-revfss.html
    Certainly made it easier than trying to find somewhere to fit an inductive sensor in a Roadster..!
    Marlin Roadster, LWB...1860 B Series + Ford Type 9
    Renault Espace 54mm front calipers, vented discs, cycle wings and adjustable tie-bars.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member greyV8pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Exeter
    Posts
    1,191
    Quote Originally Posted by ggrum View Post
    Anyone got or fitted an electronic speedometer to their Cabrio? Interested to know where people have fitted the inductive sensor before I attempt to fit mine.
    I fitted one! See link below. Peter.

    https://www.marlinownersclub.com/for...nsor#post25890
    Last edited by greyV8pete; 27-11-2019 at 08:55 AM. Reason: wording clarified.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member chris_cussen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South Somerset
    Posts
    520
    I have a ETB electric speedo fitted. You need to run 2 thin wires to somewhere suitable. I used the diff and made a small bracket to hold the pickup over the flange to the propshaft. On the flange I glued two tiny magnets so there is a few mm clearance between the pickup and the magnet. ETB supply pickup and magnets.
    The ETB speedo is easily calibrated by entering the number of pulses per mile which means you have to know the rolling radius of the tyre and the diff ratio.
    If you don't know you can make an educated guess (I seem to remeber the majic number was about 4000). I then used a garmin to check the speedo speed against the garmin readout. You can recalibrate the speedo using the formula new value = old value * speedo reading / garmin reading.
    Cabrio, Omex 2.0l 150bhp Zetec blacktop, Omex ECU and wiring loom.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    forum contributor
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Exmouth
    Posts
    9
    I fitted a Smiths electronic speedo. Mounted the pickup on a bracket fixed to a diff bolt. The Smiths version is inductive, no magnets, and claims to work from any rotating metal part e.g. propshafr flange bolt heads. That worked, but the speedo became inaccurate over 50mph. After wasting a lot of time, I found it worked perfectly when I added a small piece of aluminium strip (for light weight) under one of the flange bolts so I could move the sensor away from the mass of the u/j by about half an inch. The sensor triggers on the piece of aluminium. The calibration number is about 1400 as it only gets one pulse per propshaft rev. Adjusted by trial and error when comparing with a gps.
    I didn't go for the electronic gearbox sensor because the drive in the gearbox had failed.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member Alan c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Horsell - near Woking in Surrey
    Posts
    336
    I fitted a GPS one from Speedhut in USA - brilliant. 10x stronger GPS so acts like a normal speedo. only wires are to light it uo and to the GPS pick up which is right above it on dash size of a matchbook. Lots of choice of font and colours to match car.

    £200 ish plus few quid duty from usa.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    Club Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    372
    Thanks chaps for all your responses. I'll probably go down the same route as Pete which is more or less what I had in mind. I did consider the GPS option but found the units in the Smiths classic style were very expensive.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member listerjp2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    1,847
    All

    Somewhat off the wall but I loaded a HUD ( heads Up Display ) speedo on my phone for FREE.

    I used some blue tac to stop it rolling from side to side on the dash and in my view its brilliant.

    On playstore look for GPS Hub Speedo.

    OK its not so good when going through a tunnel but that's the only downside.

    Adrian
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10 Re: Speedo Sensor 
    frequent forum contributor Club Member chris_cussen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South Somerset
    Posts
    520
    As a note a GPS speedo will fail IVA!
    Cabrio, Omex 2.0l 150bhp Zetec blacktop, Omex ECU and wiring loom.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •