Steering column position and other questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering column position and other questions

If all goes according to plan I will shortly be the owner of a Marina based roadster requiring restoration. I have the first of what will be many questions I guess.

Is it possible to relocate the steering column so that it is under rather than through the dash? I am guessing that the pedal box position may be an issue?

Many years ago I saw a roadster that had shortened rear springs so that they didn't "hang out" so much from the rear of the car. Does anyone know if this car is still around and if there are any problems with this mod?

Cheers Robin

PS. I am not a newbie having built a triumph based roadster and BMW based sportester previously.

Re: Steering column position and other questions

Some years ago I modified my old Marina based Roadster steering so that the column went down at a more conventional angle under the dash. I used a Ford Capri column which is very long and cut a hole in the pedal box between the accelerator and brake pedals. The end of the column just went through this hole and was supported by a bracket. The intermediate shaft between the column and the rack had to be modified (either shortened or lengthened, I can't remember which).

Comment

It can be done possibly using a Triumph column as in a hybrid this pic is a Marina based car with a re positioned column you need to make sure the steering wheel clears your knee when operating the clutch pedal.
      Ben Caswell probably not the last word on anything here!!

Comment

I remembered these pics from the archive, don't know which Roadster it is, but thought
        they are worth bringing to light again - were they in Pitstop some years ago ?

Not what you are suggesting Robin, but an interesting way of changing direction/location

Is this a Ford engine ?

Note also the anti cracking bulkhead reinforcement triangle under the pedal box